Skip to main content
Zastava Europske unije Zastava Europske unije
Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Risk Mitigation
NEWS on COVID-19 and CBRN risks

Developments on CBRN Risk Mitigation from our Partner Countries

EU CBRN Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence

CBRN CoE Facts and Figures

62 Partner Countries
Facts and Figures
The CBRN CoE Initiative has 62 Partner Countries and 2 candidate countries to join the network.
8 Regions
Facts and Figures
The Partner Countries are organised into 8 Regions: African Atlantic Façade, Central Asia, Eastern and Central Africa, Gulf Cooperation Council Countries, Middle East, North Africa and Sahel, South East Asia and South East and Eastern Europe.
41 NAQs completed
Facts and Figures
The Needs Assessment Questionnaire (NAQ) is a tool which helps national teams identify and document areas requiring Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) Risk Mitigation. It is based on a voluntary request from any Partner Country.
30 NAPs completed
Facts and Figures
The National Action Plan (NAP) enables the Partner Countries to define their priority objectives in the field of CBRN Risk Mitigation. They can share them to build joint projects and formulate an integrated regional approach.
A new funding instrument
Facts and Figures
The Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI) is the new financial tool funding the Centres of Excellence, contributing to promote sustainable development, prosperity, peace and stability.
91 funded projects
Facts and Figures
Within the CoE network, 91 CBRN projects have been implemented and 27 are ongoing.

Our Network

The CBRN CoE Network consists of 62 Partner Countries grouped around 8 Regions, each facilitated by a Regional Secretariat:

Regional graphic for the 8 regions within the CBRN CoE
Regional graphic for the 8 regions within the CBRN CoE

EU CBRN CoE Partner Countries:

African Atlantic Façade (AAF): Benin, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Central Asia (CA): Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Eastern and Central Africa (ECA): Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.

Gulf Cooperation Council Contries (GCC): Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Bahrain, The State of Kuwait, The State of Qatar, United Arab Emirates.

Middle East (MIE): The Republic of Lebanon, The Republic of Iraq, The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

North Africa and Sahel (NAS): Algeria, Burkina Faso, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia.

South East Asia (SEA): Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam.

South East and Eastern Europe (SEEE): Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine